Olympus Tarot

[Hierophant] [4 of Pentacles] The Olympus Tarot by artist Luca Raimondo is based on the myths of the gods and goddesses of ancient Greece. Each major arcana card is associated with one Olympic divinity whose story or character matches the meaning of that card: Cronos is the Hierophant, Hera is the High Priestess. Each minor arcana suit draws on one feature from these myths: places (cups), objects (pentacles), creatures (wands) and heroes (swords). The 4 of Penacles shows Ariadne's string which led Theseus safely out of the Minotaur's labyrinth. At the top of each card is the name in English and the suit icon. (Suit icons are not incorporated into the scene in the Olympus Tarot.) At the bottom is the name in four other languages. The Olympus Tarot is produced by Lo Scarabeo in Italy, but is distributed in the US by Llewellyn. The Mythic Tarot is another deck based on the Greek myths.

Number of Cards Size Copyright Card Back Design
22 major/56 minor
2 5/8" x 4 3/4" 2002 [back design]
Order - Amazon

Language of Card Titles: English, French, Spanish, German, Italian

Also Included: instruction sheet (14 pages), title card, publisher card

Major Arcana:
Fool, Magician, High Priestess, Empress, Emperor, Hierophant,
Lovers, Chariot, Strength (card 11), Hermit, Wheel, Justice (card 8),
Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, Devil, Tower,
Stars, Moon, Sun, Judgement, World

Suit Names: Wands, Chalices (Cups), Swords, Pentacles

Court Cards: King, Queen, Knight, Knave (Page)

Links to Other Sites:
Review - Aeclectic Tarot website


[High Priestess] [8 of Wands] [Knave of Swords


[ Home ][ Course ][ Cards ][ Decks ]
Copyright © 1995-2007 by Joan Bunning