Rune Magic Cards

[Homeland] [God] The Rune Magic Cards are a set of 24 cards featuring the German rune alphabet called futhark, a name made up of the first six rune letters. The runes are divided into three families or aettir of 8 cards each. Each rune also forms a pair with another rune. The cards show information about the runes in this alphabet. The most common form of the rune is given in the center in red. On the bottom is the Old English name and translation. On the top, the rune's phonetic value as a letter and its number. The rune's aettir is shown in the circle with its place given in red. The images convey some sense of the rune's meaning. In the instruction booklet, Donald Tyson describes how to read the rune cards for insight and guidance. He explains why these cards are useful even though runes are not traditionally cast in card form.

Number of Cards Size Copyright Card Back Design
24 2 1/2" x 4 5/8" 1989 [back design]
Order - Amazon

Language of Card Titles: English, Old English

Also Included: instruction booklet (63 pages)

Card Names:
Feoh-Cattle, Ur-Aurochs, Thorn-Devil, Os-God, Rad-Riding, Ken-Torch
Gyfu-Gift, Wyn-Glory, Haegl-Hail, Nyd-Need, Is-Ice, Ger-Harvest
Eoh-Yew, Peord-Apple, Eolh-Defense, Sigel-Sun, Tyr-Tiw, Beorc-Birch,
Eh-Horse, Man-Man, Lagu-Water, Ing-Fertility God, Daeg-Day, Ethel-Homeland

Suit Names: no suits

Court Cards: no court cards


[Sun] [Harvest] [Man]


[ Home ][ Course ][ Cards ][ Decks ]
Copyright © 1995-2007 by Joan Bunning